Featured image 13 – Go Wild in Laos

KUANG SI Waterfalls is located roughly thirty kilometers south of Luang Prabang in Laos. And yes – it is a place where dreams come true!

Grown men and women throw themselves off the slanting tree trunks, and most let out a small jungle roar before they hit the water. It’s fun! And I would even say addictive, judging by the amount of times people repeated their jumps.

You’d think a place like this would be full of tourists. However, although there were quite a few people by the waterfalls, they were spread out. And there are no groups, only independent travelers searching for serene beauty and a hefty adrenalin rush.

It took us about 45 minutes by tuk tuk to reach the Kuang Si waterfalls. The road there is winding, but also absolutely gorgeous. We passed through some interesting little villages, some belonging to the traditional Hmong people. And our driver waited patiently for us outside the nature park where you’ll find the water fall. There’s a small entrance fee to pay – something like 20.000 kip if I remember correctly. (It’s amazing how fast I forget the conversion rates, but I believe it’s something like fifty pence.)

We paid our driver $20 for the day, and he agreed to stopping several times along the way so that we could get out and explore and photograph the villages. All in all, I would say that the trip to the Kuang Si waterfalls was the highlight of our stay in Luang Prabang.

Fancy seeing another side of Laos? Check out the ever present monks!

9 comments on “Featured image 13 – Go Wild in Laos

  1. That looks like something that should come on doctor’s prescription to cure stress…

    Is that water really so amazingly turquoise?

    I can’t wait to get to Asia myself now. I’m counting the days…slowly starting to think about what to pack and what still needs to be arranged… 🙂

  2. After nearly ten years in southern Africa (seasonally in malaria area), and a fair share of traveling in malaria area elsewhere, I’ve given up on prophylaxes completely. It takes away all the magic of traveling, losing my hair and having dreams that makes the orcs in Lord of the ring look like teddy bears. After a few days I’m a nervous wreck suffering from insomnia. I think I’ve tried everything from the horrible Lariam to the ridiculously expensive Malanil/malarone. No thanks. I’ll take my chances. Alright, so I confess that there are exceptions to the rule, but this Asia trip will not be one of them. And we’re anyway sticking to southern Thailand most of the time. 🙂

    • I am totally with you on this one! Ha ha, love the orcs comparison! Who knows? You may just have developed immunity having been exposed to the potentially dangerous mosquitos for so long!

  3. Pingback: Luang Prabang TOP 5 | Photito's Blog – a travel journalist's confessions

Leave a Reply

