Lisbon – Popeye and his tattoo

Lisbon is often celebrated for being a hip place where the old fusions with the new. I have a deep love for the old Lisbon. The quaintness of the Alfama district where Popeye like sailors have retired to a life on land. Last time I was in Lisbon I met up with some of these characters in the seediest of bars, exactly where guide books advice you not to go.

no comment...

These old sailors were quite fascinating. They had been all over the place and had dedicated their lives to working and drinking hard. This was their regular hang out. A hole in the wall bar where they kept the stories from the oceans alive over a game of dominoes. A TV was blearing out news and gossip from a corner. I wanted to talk, they wanted to strip off to show me their mad past. After seeing this, I realized that for once words were indeed surplus… a picture like this says so much more than a thousand words!

FYI – Alfama is the only district that wasn’t totally destroyed in the massive 1755 earthquake which nearly demolished the whole city. Consequently it’s one of Lisbon’s oldest districts, and a place where one can really feel the city’s heritage.


One comment on “Lisbon – Popeye and his tattoo

  1. Hi,

    This is a wonderful blog! It was a very good read.

    I was wondering if you would be interested in guest blogging on my blog. It is a collection of my travels and the travels of my guests. If you scan the site you can see that now almost 100% of the posts are from guests. Lately I’ve been finding many people interested in guest posting.

    Included in your post will be a link to your website using whatever anchor text or key words you wish and a description of your site (if you choose to include one.)

    The blog (OnetravelBloggers.com) contains hundreds of great stories from travelers who love to share their journey with the world…

    So if you are interested in being a guest, please let me know.

    Send me an Email:
    gchristodoulou(-at-)OneTravel(-dot-)com

Leave a Reply

