Featured image 5 – my magical Venice

This is the second image from Venice in our Featured Images series. Maybe I should have chosen another destination, but then again… I do love Venice, and will go back time and time again. This means our Venice archives are bursting with special moments. Those who say Venice is smelly and crowded – tough – you just don’t know where to look for the eternal beauty of this place.

This shot was taken on one of Venice’s many campi which means open squares. This is Campo San Polo, the second largest in the city after Piazza San Marco. On a summer’s evening you’ll find the city’s open air cinema here. When I arrived, on a chilly autumn evening, there was only one boy and his football, plus the gorgeous, old fashioned merry-go-round that grabbed my attention. I immediately knew it had to be a stark black and white with a touch of color.

The whole scene reminded me of a book I read years ago. Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter.  There was magic in the air, and the whole experience was enhanced by the Tintoretto I went to see in the Chiesa di San Polo. Wonderfully eerie and a reminder to myself that I much prefer Venice out of season.

Leave a Reply

